Welcome to Voxyforest where you’re at the beginning of a new voxel based life sim style game.
Having loved games like Animal Crossing as a child (this was back during the GameCube era) and having made a walkthrough back in the days, I have been recently reinspired to create a game like that on my own, partially from the influence of the Animal Crossing Movie.

The idea is to use simple shapes to represent the world, with many objects being consisted of “voxels” 3d pixel like shapes. This would save on the lack of graphical skills on my part, while still being able to have a game fit in to a particular style (one that I happen to like as well).

Having decided I needed voxel modelling software, I headed off to google and found some useful tools: In particular DotModeler a 3D voxel modelling software for the style of graphics I want. However having not been developed for native operations on windows machines, odd glitches occured, that with the paring of the program menus being written in French set me off to look for another option. It turned out quite difficult to find modelling programs of that sort so I decided the best option was just for me to write my own modeler.

After many hours of fumbling with a new SDK (JMonkeyEngine 3 Platform – which btw has been fantastic for 3D development in Java for me so far) I managed to get a simple editor up:

Functionality implemented this update:

  • Drawing of grids.
  • Adding of blocks to the VoxelBox.

To be implemented:

  • Saving of objects.
  • Loading of objects.
  • Choice of voxel colours.

I also have a very simple test scene up, which has me a little bit motivated (:

* For completness sake, I also found another modeling program SolidDots for the iPhone. Unfortunately I don’t have an iPhone to check it out, but it would be great if I could integrate the ability to use this program for creating objects for Voxyforest. I would also like to integrate the “board extending sculpting” idea to VoxyEditor.